SA Presidential Run-Off Planned after Election

Students elected 2019-20 leaders, but top two finishers in race for student association president will face-off in an election on Thursday.

Amy Martin
Amy Martin, a sophomore in ESIA, was elected SA executive vice president for the 2019-20 academic year. (Photo courtesy Amy Martin)
April 01, 2019

None of the four presidential candidates in the 2019-20 George Washington University Student Body election obtained 40 percent of the vote as required by the Student Association constitution, forcing a run-off election between SJ Matthews, a junior in the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences, who earned just over 25 percent of the vote, and Justin Diamond, a freshman in the Elliott School of International Affairs and a write-in candidate who earned nearly 27 percent of the vote.

The run-off election will be from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. April 4. Students can vote online.

GW students elected Amy Martin, an SA senator and a sophomore studying international affairs, as executive vice president for the next academic year. Ms. Martin, who serves as the vice-chair of the SA Student Life Committee, said she was impressed that the GW student body trusts her to represent their voices. She added that she will do everything she can to be worthy of their vote.

“With my term, I hope to bring forward concrete solutions to longstanding student problems,” Ms. Martin said. “I also want to bring down the barriers between the SA and the student body and make sure students know how to advocate for themselves. Many passionate voices are much stronger than any individual could ever be.”

This year, nearly 4,970 students voted in the SA elections, an increase from the nearly 4,190 votes cast in 2018.

About 54 percent of students voted in favor of a referendum urging the university to change the university’s Colonial moniker.  A GW spokesperson said the leadership of the university will continue to listen to students, faculty, staff and alumni as various naming issues are studied.

Student Life


Incoming Student Association Leaders Elected for 2018-19

April 02, 2018
Ashley Le and Ojani Walthrust are the new SA president and executive vice president.

Students Elect New Leaders for 2017-18

April 10, 2017
Peak Sen Chua was named the next executive vice president after receiving 51.9 percent of the vote.