GW Experts Tapped for Biden’s Transition Team

Five faculty members were named to help with the presidential transition.

November 12, 2020

Alt Text

President-Elect Joe Biden and Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris announced their transition team Tuesday. (Courtesy photo)

Members of the George Washington University community have been selected to join the ranks of highly-experienced experts that will assist the incoming presidential administration in taking control of the federal executive branch.

Five GW faculty were among the nearly 500 professionals named on President-Elect Joe Biden and Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris’ transition team.

Announced Tuesday, the members of team were chosen to help the new administration understand the day-to-day operations of federal agencies to ensure a smooth transition of power based on their deep backgrounds in critical policy areas. According to the Biden-Harris transition website, the GW faculty members are working as volunteers for agency review teams, which are responsible for not only for understanding how each agency works but also for preparing Mr. Biden, Ms. Harris and their cabinet to hit the ground running. 

Here are the GW faculty who will work on the Biden-Harris transition team:

  • Madelyn Creedon, director and chair of the Nuclear Security Working Group and research professor of international affairs, who will work on the Department of Energy team. The team will review the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
  • Bridget C.E. Dooling, a research professor with the GW Regulatory Studies Center, who will work on the Office of Management and Budget team.
  • Michelle Howard, former Shapiro Visiting Professor of International Affairs, who will work on the transition’s Department of Defense team.
  • Christopher A. Kojm, a professor of international affairs, who will work on the Intelligence Community team, which will review all 17 intelligence organizations including the Central Intelligence Agency, the FBI and Department of State.
  • Jay Shambaugh, a professor of economics and international affairs, will work with the Council of Economic Advisers.