University Statement on Immigration Executive Order

The university’s International Services Office provided guidance to the GW community regarding President Trump’s recent executive order.

January 30, 2017

The George Washington University's leadership and, particularly, its International Services Office, are aware of the Executive Order entitled Protecting the Nation from Terrorist Entry into the United States by Foreign Nationals signed by President Trump on January 27, 2017.

The university values and is concerned about all members of the GW community. The International Services Office and others are working to understand how this Executive Order will affect students, faculty, staff and their families. The International Services Office will provide any assistance that we can to those in our community who are affected by this development, and will continue to communicate information as it becomes available.

Section 3 of the Executive Order suspends "entry into the United States" of both immigrants and nonimmigrants who hold passports from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for 90 days (and possibly longer), starting January 27, 2017. The affected individuals include dual citizens and U.S. permanent residents, as well as refugees, from these listed countries. The list of affected countries may be expanded in the future. The Executive Order excludes those traveling on diplomatic visas (A visas), NATO visas, C-2 visas for travel to the United Nations, and G-1, G-2, G-3 and G-4 visas; they may, for the time being, continue to return to the United States without restriction.

As a result of this Executive Order, we are warning affected individuals that travel outside of the United States for the foreseeable future is risky because it is likely that you will not be re-admitted to the United States.

For questions or concerns, please contact Senior Associate Provost for International Strategy Doug Shaw ([email protected]) or Director of International Services Jennifer Donaghue ([email protected]).