Service Awards Recognize GW Community Efforts

Two students received the Steven and Diane Robinson Knapp Fellowship for Entrepreneurial Service-Learning and will address food conservation and gender equality with their projects.

May 2, 2017

Gayatri Malhotra

Gayatri Malhotra, one of the recipients of the Steven and Diane Robinson Knapp Fellowship for Entrepreneurial Service-Learning, will help address gender equality in Delhi, India. (Logan Werlinger/GW Today)

Students’ and faculty members’ outstanding service efforts were recognized Monday at the Honey W. Nashman Center for Civic Engagement and Public Service’s Academic Service-Learning Symposium.

The semi-annual event is an opportunity for the George Washington University community to celebrate achievements and attend workshops that explore different types of service and discuss best practices.

“This is such a wonderful opportunity for all of us who have been connecting our academics, our service and our civic engagement together,” said Amy Cohen, executive director of the Nashman Center.

Among those recognized Monday were students Gayatri Malhotra and Chloe King, who are recipients of the Steven and Diane Robinson Knapp Fellowship for Entrepreneurial Service-Learning.

The fellowship was established by the Knapps to recognize, reward and facilitate creative public service and academic engagement. Fellows work with the Nashman Center, a faculty member and may work with other students or community partners to execute an academic project that makes a significant difference to the lives of others.

Ms. King, who is currently abroad, will organize a food conservation challenge in D.C. Public Schools to educate students on environmental issues and encourage them to prevent waste.

Meanwhile, Ms. Malhotra plans to explore perceptions, beliefs and attitudes of adolescents and how these change in communities in Delhi, India.

“What I’m going to be doing is implementing a gender equality curriculum in schools,” she said.

Two faculty members also were recognized on Monday: Dolores Perillan, a teaching instructor of Spanish who received the Faculty Engagement Award, and Uriyoan Colon-Ramos, an assistant professor of global health who received the Research Excellence Award.

“They truly exemplify what it means to be an engaged faculty member,” said Caroline Laguerre-Brown, vice provost for diversity, equity and community engagement. “The work of both of these faculty members is intrinsically tied to GW’s diversity mission.”

Additional winners this year included:

  • Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (Minority Vote Award)
  • Eve Schwartz, Andrea Rosero (Public Service Grant Commission)
  • Logan Malik, Isabelle Moody (Eco-Equity Challenge)
  • Adam Graubart (Campus Compact Award: Newman Civic Fellowship)
  • Emily Morrison (Maryland-D.C. Campus Compact Early Career Engaged Scholarship Award)
  • Alternative Breaks (Group Student Service Excellence Award)
  • Lydia Johnson (Individual Student Service Excellence Award)