Professor Sarah Binder Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Honorary society will induct GW political science professor and Brookings Institution senior fellow in the fall.

Sarah Binder
April 26, 2015
The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced that it has elected George Washington University Professor Sarah Binder as one of 197 new members of its honorary society. 
Dr. Binder, a professor of political science professor in the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences, joins a group of inductees who include Nobel Prize-winner Brian Kobilka, Tony Award-winner Audra McDonald and novelist Tom Wolfe.
Dr. Binder is also a senior fellow in governance studies at the Brookings Institution.  She is an expert on Congress and legislative politics and has received several awards for her work on government affairs. Her 2003 book, “Stalemate: Causes and Consequences of Legislative Gridlock,” received the 2004 Richard F. Fenno Jr. Prize, given to theoretically and empirically strong writing published on legislative studies.
“I was both surprised and thrilled to hear about my election. I'm grateful to my department colleagues at GW for creating such a supportive and fun place to grow as a political scientist,” Dr. Binder said.
Since 1780, the American Academy has been a leading center for independent policy research and among the country’s most prestigious honorary societies. It has elected the world’s most highly regarded scholars and thinkers from each generation into its ranks—the university’s namesake George Washington was elected in the 18th century. Its current membership boasts 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.
The academy’s 2015 members run the gamut from scholars to artists to philanthropic leaders. 
“We are honored to elect a new class of extraordinary women and men to join our distinguished membership,” said Don Randel, chair of the academy’s Board of Directors. “Each new member is a leader in his or her field and has made a distinct contribution to the nation and the world. We look forward to engaging them in the intellectual life of this vibrant institution.” 
An official induction ceremony for new members will be Oct. 10 in Cambridge, Mass.