Five Alumni to Receive Outstanding Service Awards

The university will recognize their contributions to university programs at an April event.

February 17, 2017

Five George Washington University alumni will receive the Alumni Outstanding Service Award in April for their volunteer efforts in support of the university.

The awards are given to alumni for their contributions to university programs. They will be presented at the 56th annual Alumni Outstanding Service Awards ceremony April 6 at the Marvin Center.

Here is a look at this year’s recipients:

Dean Coclin, B.S. ’84

Mr. Coclin serves as the current chair of the GW Boston alumni network and is a member of the Luther Rice Society Advisory Council, leading the group as chair from 2010-2014. He is also a member of the GW Alumni Association Board of Directors. With more than 25 years of business development and product management experience in software, security and telecommunications, Mr. Coclin is senior director of business development in the Trust Services division at Symantec. He was one of the founders of ChosenSecurity, an Internet security firm, and had roles at GeoTrust; Betrusted, an e-security firm; Baltimore Federal Systems, a division of Baltimore Technologies; CyberTrust Solutions and GTW Government Systems Corporation.



Jean Johnson, Ph.D. ’93

Dr. Johnson will receive the Jane Lingo Alumni Outstanding Service Award—presented to a faculty or staff member who is a GW graduate and who consistently advances the mission of the university through dedicated volunteer efforts in support of its programs. She was the founding dean of the GW School of Nursing (GWSON) as well as professor and executive coach. During her time at GW, Dr. Johnson grew GW’s SON, developing new programs and creating one of the university’s first online programs. A longtime geriatric nurse practitioner, Dr. Johnson focused her research and policy work on patient safety and quality improvement and has held several roles with national professional groups, including the Institute of Medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and American College of Nurse Practitioners. She is currently a Fulbright scholar teaching in the graduate clinical pediatric program at the University of Cape Town South Africa.



Mary Miller, M.A. ’78

Ms. Miller, who serves on the GW School of Business Board of Advisors, is a banking specialist and former commercial banker with more than 30 years of banking and international development experience. Ms. Miller’s previous work includes risk management assessment in India of a national loan guarantee program and development of financial instruments for agribusiness. She serves on the Senior Advisory Council for the GrowthCap initiative of the Financial Sector Deepening Trust of Kenya.




Jim Core, M.A. ’96

Mr. Core served on the board of the GW Alumni Association from 2005 to 2014, including as president from 2011 to 2013. He began serving on the Elliott School Board of Advisors in 2013. Mr. Core was recently named director of the International Expositions Unit at the U.S. Department of State, where he leads the department’s engagement on World’s Fairs with federal, state, local, and international stakeholders. Previously, he was a senior analyst at the department, supporting U.S. foreign affairs agencies. Mr. Core has also held roles at the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Resolution Trust Corporation and an international development contractor.




Stuart L. Harshbarger, M.Phil. ’93, Ph.D. ’94

Dr. Harshbarger helped establish the GW Economics Alumni Advisory Committee, which brings together business leaders and GW faculty to further economics education. Dr. Harshbarger is an economist and serves as a director and partner at NERA Economic Consulting, where he focuses on international tax matters. He has authored many scholarly articles, including one that shows that executive compensation is the best way to allocate global corporate profits. He is the past vice president and program director of the National Economists Club.

University News


GW Alumni Association Recognizes Six with Service Award

April 11, 2016
Trustees Jay Katzen, Mark Shenkman among those honored at annual event.